Social media obsessed

Living in the age of technology can be a blessing and a curse. People now have the opportunity to access the good, the bad, the ugly, the pointless and the absurd  in seconds. But on a more serious note, a really serious note, adolescents and young adults are ridiculously social media obsessed, and I’m not the only one who thinks so. Jonathan Lacaba of the Oklahoma State Univerisity Daily O’Collegian wrote an article about how annoyed he is with social networking obsession. Like Lacaba, I agree that this isn’t a new problem, but it is a problem that has been ticking me off lately.

I use social media to keep up with old friends, find out what is going on around campus and to keep up with what others are saying about current events. I check social networking sites when I have time or when I’m bored (Ok,  and maybe sometimes while writing an essay or two as well, but that’s just keep me awake). My point is that others just dont know when to to stop with social media madness. I guarantee you that if I spend less than an hour in a public space, someone will mention social networking, which seems a bit pathetic to me. People spend precious classroom time, aka tuition dollars,  browsing pictures of someone else’s life, even if they don’t know them. I work at the library where it seems students will go Hulk on someone if they don’t get the chance to “Tweet” during study sessions. People leave the library saying “I need to update my status” or “I need to respond to that Tweet” like they’re saying they need a cigarette and a glass of wine.

I just wanted to know what happened to good old face-to-face socialization. My best memories have been those days when I would spend at least 5 hours a day outside with friends, not tracking their every move via a computer screen. Social media even takes away from the college experience because cyberstalking is apparently better than meeting fresh faces every day. Looking at old college yearbooks and listening to the dorm stories of those who attended college before social media existed,  I realized that college was the bombnizzle. If you wanted to contact someone on campus back then, you show up unannounced and disturb the heck out of them until they open the door. Then, that person did the exact same thing until you’ve put together a mob that is ready to wreck havoc across campus. Sounds like fun to me!

Social networking has been recently studied for its link to depression in teens and young adults. Young people begin to rely on their friendships through social media that they lose social skills in the real world. Membership data collected a year ago about social media has been compared with their membership data toda, showing mind-boggling jumps in numbers.

My whole point of this post was to express how tired I am of people being obsessed with other’s lives.  Being obsessed with social media will take away your own happiness as you sit there, comparing your life to somone else’s so you can feel better or worse about yourself. Enjoy the life that was given to you because all that precious time spent worrying what someone else is doing is time that you could use to live your own life to the max.

About Kiara

Bonjour! My name is Kiara and I'm a sophomore Advertising/PR major at Oklahoma State University. I love media, being creative, fashion, films and writing. Most of all, I love finding out about interesting stories and people. In the future, I would like to work for a media entertainment company. View all posts by Kiara

One response to “Social media obsessed

  • zmfrederick

    Interesting article. I think that the main question is if lonely people flock to Facebook or if Facebook creates lonely people… I wrote an article about this topic combining many different Facebook studies to try to come to a conclusion: http://bit.ly/fAVhCL

Leave a Reply

