I’m not a girl, not yet a woman

Okay, I totally just used a cheesy Britney Spears chorus as a blog title. It’s the first and ONLY Britney song that I can actually  relate to. For the first time in my life, I truly feel as though the consequences of almost every decision I make from now will effect me for the rest of my life.

Things are no longer black and white at this age anymore. “Would you like fries with that?” turns into “Would you like to indulge in trans fat now and have heart disease at 50?”. Picking out a little black dress means thinking, “Could I pair this with another piece to make it more business attire?”. Social networking becomes a little less social, and more so about business. They say teenage years are tough, but I feel as though the life I live now is way more complicated. If I don’t take my life one day at a time, I feel a bit overwhelmed sometimes.

All in all, I know the things I accomplish now will make for a better tomorrow. It’s crazy to think how drastically my life has changed in two years. I entered college in fall 2009 a naive girl. I will leave Oklahoma State University in 2013 an educated, worldly, motivated, sophisticated woman ready to take on the challenges life brings me.


“This business of womanhood is a heavy burden.”

-Tsitsi Dangarembga

About Kiara

Bonjour! My name is Kiara and I'm a sophomore Advertising/PR major at Oklahoma State University. I love media, being creative, fashion, films and writing. Most of all, I love finding out about interesting stories and people. In the future, I would like to work for a media entertainment company. View all posts by Kiara

Leave a Reply

