Left brained, right brained or idiot?

So, are you a complete idiot or what?

At the beginning of this semester, I had to sit down for a three hour orientation. One of the activities we had to do was take one of those silly “Are You Left Brained or Right Brained?” quizzes. I thought to myself, “Gosh, I know this is going to be easy. I’m definitely creative, so I will score as right brained all the way.”  However, as I was taking this quiz, how I decided on the questions became a little blurry. Not all my answers to the questions were on the creative side. Behold, my quiz results were split 50/50. I’m both creative and analytic. At first I thought, “Okay, that’s pretty cool, but why am I so bad a math if I’m analytic?” Then I started thinking, “How am I going to find a job?!? I’m like a jack of all trades, master of none!”

I caught myself feeling trapped in the middle. I looked back and realized all these years that I really have had a ridiculous amount of interests and hobbies. A lot of them completely unrelated. As I prepare to enter the workforce soon, I began to wonder that if I could offer the world anything with so much interests in so many things. Could I be content at one job? Behold, a lot of my wonder and anxiety about my future was put to rest when I found out just how restless Generation Y is.

Photo Credit: http://workexposedblog.com/tag/millennials/

Generation Y is the freelance generation, the consistently wired millennials that know what they want from the world and how to change it. I thought that maybe being both left and right brained left me to stick out like a sore thumb, the idiot with no absolute love for one career. Now I know that I was meant to stick out like a sore thumb because Generation Y is here to change the workplace for the first time in100 years.

So, I’m not a lost idiot with no passion in life, just a freelance Generation Y young adult taking in my passion for just about everything the world has to offer. A little FYI–I would like to work as a communicator in the visual or performing industry. Nothing makes me happier than combining my love for writing and the arts like being a promotions person for a motion picture or ballet company 🙂

About Kiara

Bonjour! My name is Kiara and I'm a sophomore Advertising/PR major at Oklahoma State University. I love media, being creative, fashion, films and writing. Most of all, I love finding out about interesting stories and people. In the future, I would like to work for a media entertainment company. View all posts by Kiara

Leave a Reply

