The day the Earth shook

Normally, I try to stick to really interesting things that relate to the overall human experience. However, today I experienced something that literally rocked my world.

Fall weekends in Stillwater, Okla., are usually pretty tame and filled with football excitement. I don’t  go to the football games, but I always know what is going on because every store and restaurant in town is tuned in to the games. Don’t get me wrong, I like football. I just hate watching it in a stadium for three hours with a bunch of drunken idiots. Anyway, let’s get back on track. It’s Nov. 5, 2011 at almost 11 p.m. I am SUPER pumped because the  Oklahoma State Cowboys just won a really close game, making us 9-0.  This town is on excitement steroids because of our amazing winning streak right now. If I am pumped about it, you know it is a big deal. Things were going pretty well as everyone was enjoying the victory.Then, IT happened. I’m carrying my computer to my living room when I hear what I thought at the time was roaring from the pits of hell. The roaring turned into shaking and all I could do was look bewildered. For the first time ever, I felt an earthquake and it was  smack dab in the middle of the country!

Now, why is this all such a big deal? Probably because I went from estatic to feeling ridiculously scared in about a 10 minute period. We apparently get earthquakes here all the time now, including one less than 24 hours ago that I didn’t feel. However, this one sent me running to go hold on to my mommy.

Storms, hail, flooding? Bring it! That’s what we are used to in Oklahoma. In fact, whenever we hear tornado sirens we go outside in the yard or on the roof like some gangsters. Earthquakes? No thank you!! Especially earthquakes that are 5+ on the Richter Scale.

I do not think I ever had that much excitement and fear happen in such a short period of time. I guess it is all part of life’s crazy experiences and why every bit of the way is a colorful dance floor.

About Kiara

Bonjour! My name is Kiara and I'm a sophomore Advertising/PR major at Oklahoma State University. I love media, being creative, fashion, films and writing. Most of all, I love finding out about interesting stories and people. In the future, I would like to work for a media entertainment company. View all posts by Kiara

Leave a Reply

